Emerald Hills of the Heart: Key concepts in the Practice of Sufism

pixel.gif (43 bytes) pixel.gif (43 bytes)
pixel.gif (43 bytes)
Tasawwuf or Sufism
The Origin of Tasawwuf
Who is sofi ?
Repentance, Sincere Penitence, Turning to God in Contrition
Self Interrogation
Fleeing and Taking Shelter
Privacy and Seclusion
State and Station
Heart 1 (Qalb 1)
Heart 2 (Qalb 2)
Sadness or Sorrow (Huzn)
Fear and Reverence (Khafh and Khashya)
Hope or Expectation (Raja)
Asceticism (Zuhd)
Piety (Taqwa)
Abstinence (Wara)
Worship, Servanthood and Deep Devotion (Ibada, Ubudiya & Ubuda)
Self Supervision (Murakaba)
Sincerity or Purity of Intention (Ikhlas)
Starightforwardness (Istikama)
Reliance, Surrender, Commitment & Confidence (Tawakkul, Taslim, Tafwiz and Thiqa)
Good Nature (Khuluq)
Humility (Tawadu)
Truthfulness (Sidk)
Modesty (Haya)
Thankfulness (Shukr)
Patience (Sabr)
Resignation (Rida)
Distention (Inbisat)
Decision and Resolution (Qast and Azm)
Will, Willing One and willed One (Irada, Murid and Murad)
Certainty (Yaqin)
Recitation of God's Names (Dhikr)
Perfect Goodness (Ihsan)
Insight and Discernment (Basira and Firasa)
Serenity and Peacefulness (Sakina and Itminan)
Nearness and Remoteness (Qurn and Bu'd)
Spiritual Knowledge of God (Marifa)
Love (Mahabba)
Passion or Intence, Ecstatic Love ('Ashq)
Joyful Zeal and Yearning (Shawq and Ishtiyaq)
Attraction and Feeling of Being Attracted toward God (Jadhb and Injidhab))
Astonishment and Amazement (Dahsha and Khayrat)
Strain and Expansion  (Qabd and Bast)
Powerty and Richness (Fakr and Ghina)